Marriage is the legally recognized union of two people. Any person who otherwise meets the eligibility requirements under State Statute (Chapter 457) may marry any other eligible person regardless of gender.
Both local residents and those from out-of-state can apply in the office of any town or city clerk in the State of New Hampshire.
Both parties must appear before the Town/City Clerk together to complete the application for a marriage license. If either of you have been previously married, you will need to provide certified copies of divorce and/or death certificates for any previous marriages or civil unions....and don't forget your valid photo identification and birth certificates. The fee for a marriage license is $50.00 payable by check or cash.
Changing Your Name -- Each applicant should be prepared to state on the marriage license application what their name will become, subject to the parameters dictated by New Hampshire State law. According to New Hampshire Statute 5-C:41 ll-a: Upon entering into marriage, either party may do one of the following:
a. retain his or her surname prior to the marriage
b. change his or her surname to the surname of the other party
c. change the surname to a hyphenated combination of the full surnames of both parties
If a party requests a surname change under this paragraph, that party may also change his or her middle name to his or her surname prior to the marriage.
The name you choose when you apply for your marriage license application will become your sole legal name after marriage. If you wish to do something other than what is permitted by Statute, you will need to request approval of the Court.
There is no waiting period in New Hampshire, the license becomes valid for use immediately upon issuance. The license is good for 90 days from the date of application, and it can be used anywhere in the State of New Hampshire. Please review the following checklist before coming to complete a marraige license. The process takes about 30-45 minutes during regular office hours.
♦Both parties must be present to complete the worksheet.
♦You must be getting married in NH.
♦The license is valid for 90 days from the date of issuance.
♦You must present a valid photo ID for each of you.
♦You must present a birth certificate for each of you.
♦If previously married, bring your certified copy (raised seal) of your divorce decree or death certificate of spouse.
♦You will need to indicate your name upon marraige on the worksheet.
♦The Marriage License fee is $50.00. (cash or check)